According to Article 5 of its Statutes, the Governing Bodies of the Company are the General Assembly, the Board of Directors, the Supervisory Board and the Statutory Auditor or Society of Statutory Auditors.

Under the terms of the Order of the Secretary of State for the Treasury and the Secretary of State for Public Works, Transport and Communications, as holder of 100% of the share capital of APL, S.A., and in accordance with unanimous written resolutions dated May 23, 2016 and January 17, 2018, the members of the governing bodies are as follows:

The General Assembly is made up of the shareholders with the right to vote, in which case the State is the only shareholder, represented at the meeting by the person designated by joint dispatch of the Minister for Finance and the minister responsible for the port sector.
The members of the Board of Directors and the Supervisory Board must attend the General Assembly meetings and can take part in the tasks on the agenda. The Society of Statutory Auditors must be present at the annual general assembly but does not have the right to vote.
The General Assembly meets once a year to assess the financial reports and attached statements, or when requested by the shareholder and whenever the Board of Directors or the sole auditor deems it necessary.
The board of the General Assembly consists of a president and a secretary, elected at the general assembly for a period of three years.

The State representatives at the General Assembly Board are as follows:

  • Chairman of the Board of the General Assembly – Portuguese Industrial Association
  • Secretary of the General Assembly Board - Fernando Manuel Garcia Ferreira


General Assembly Minutes:

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is elected for a term of three years, with the possibility of renewal.
The Board of Directors manages the company’s affairs and carries out all the acts and operations related to the company’s Mission that are not the responsibility of the other Governing Bodies. 

Chairman - Carlos Alberto do Maio Correia

Member - Carla Maria Lamego Ribeiro

Member - António Hugo Lindo Santos Caracol

Member - Isabel Sofia de Moura Ramos

Member - Ricardo Jorge de Sousa Roque


Board Members Curriculum Vitae

The supervision of the company is the responsibility of a Supervisory Board and the Statutory Auditor or Society of Statutory Auditors, all elected by the General Assembly for a period of three years.

Supervisory Board

Under the terms of the Statutes, it is constituted by a president, two permanent members and an alternate member.

Elected for the 2023-2025 term:

  • President - Ana Beatriz de Azevedo Dias Antunes Freitas (CV)
  • Member - Carla Sofia Baptista Reis Santos (CV)
  • Member - Tiago Manuel Rodrigues Estevinho (CV)
  • Alternate Member - Rui Miguel Marques Neves Pinho Bandeira (CV)

Statutory Auditors

Elected on 01/17/2018 for the purpose of legally reviewing the annual accounts for the years 2016, 2017 and 2018:
Vítor Almeida & Associados, SROC - represented by:

Vítor Manuel Batista de Almeida

Alternate Statutory Auditor: Rosa, Correia e Associados, SROC, S.A.

Attributions of the Supervisory Bodies