The current jurisdiction area of the Port of Lisbon, defined by Decree-Law 336/98 of November 3 includes:

  • On the land side - 11 municipalities: Oeiras, Lisboa, Loures, Vila Franca de Xira, Benavente, Alcochete, Montijo, Moita, Barreiro, Seixal and Almada, extending for 273 riverside kilometres;
  • In the river-maritime area – a surface of 31,600 hectares - the limits, downstream, are the alignment of the São Julião and Bugio towers and upstream, Vila Franca de Xira.

The Tagus River estuary is 50 km long and 14 km wide, offering the Port of Lisbon excellent navigation conditions. The main access channel to the port has funds of -15.5m ZH.